Design Methods and Process

My object was gloves, for my 100 things i focused a lot on middle eastern woman and the abaya gloves, for my final poster i wanted to do something inspired by that.

Idea

The story behind my idea was i wanted to represent a middle eastern woman taking off her gloves and the words that would usually get thrown at her if she does so.

The sentence i wanted on the hand was

“غطي تفسك يا بنت” which basically translates for “cover your hands lady”.

First attempt

My first attempt was not a very successful one, the image was too zoomed out, the gloves wont show, the hands were too small and the writing on the hand was not interesting.

The photos were not interesting as well..

I tried mapping to make it look more unique and curved along side the hand but it still looked basic and didn’t satisfy me.

Second attempt

For my second attempt i wanted to focus more on making the gloves stand out as it is my main object, i also wanted to take better images, i asked my friend to model for me the the images turned out much better.

This is the image i settled for, i had to zoom in and center it.

One problem i struggled with is the gloves wont stand out especially after printing so i had to use photoshop to edit the image, i also made the hands darker because i feel like they looked too light.

For the text in the hand i wanted to experiment with something textured, related to a middle eastern woman and made sense so i decided to experiment with henna. I can honestly say trying to master my Arabic handwriting using henna was extremely hard.

I had to experiment and practice so many times.

After spending an entire day with henna all over my hand and face, i finally was able to perfect it (i think)…

my first scan

I loved the results of my first scan and wanted to press on the paper and see was happens, i never expected this result but i loved my second scan even more.

My second scan

I loved how the text was fading which made sense behind the whole concept of my idea which is (shutting society up)

After i was satisfied with both my scans i decided to crop and copy and paste the textures and play around with it. I had to make a lot of changes, i made it less proportional and played around with the size.

The text

For the text i decided to title it “Do whatever you want, woman.”

And a small crossed text with “cover your hands, lady.”

My pre-final poster for the critique

posterfinal.jpg

After the critique i got so many advice for my poster from my fellow classmates and professor.

i wanted to focus on 2 main things: the type and adding more stuff relating to the 100 things.

i decided to take two scans from my 100 things to add to the poster:gloves008.jpg

i wanted to fit these two in my poster as it represents western vs eastern. so i made theme come out of the hands.

The type

For the final type i wanted to use Trajan Pro 3 and make the text the same color as the scan of the hand from my 100 things.

 

My Final Poster

posterfinal2.jpg

Leave a comment